March 27, 2024 - The Pueblo Department of Public Health and Environment (PDPHE) announced Eva Cosyleon was selected as the 2024 Public Health Champion for displaying significant contributions to Pueblo’s health.

“Congratulations on a well-deserved award to Eva Cosyleon. Pueblo’s public health community acknowledges Ms. Cosyleon as a role model in the Pueblo community,” stated Randy Evetts, public health director at the Pueblo Department of Public Health and Environment.

Eva has been heavily involved in multiple public health initiatives over the past several years. She currently serves as the Chair of the Community That Care (CTC) Coalition and helped with starting SoCoYoGo, a youth-focused app encouraging involvement with pro-social activities in Pueblo.

She works to ensure Pueblo’s youth can access prosocial places and spaces through her participation on the Community Spaces strategy team. She, along with the Mayor and our youth advisers, recorded promotional videos encouraging safe bike riding and also helped promote public transit as a feasible option for youth through a series of informational videos. Most recently, she helped secure funding to provide solar lights at bus stops so that youth feel safer at night waiting for Transit.

This year’s Public Health Champion will also be recognized for their contributions to Pueblo’s health during National Public Health Week, which runs from April 1st – April 5th.

Ms. Cosyleon joins past Public  Health Champions in receiving this prestigious award:

2023    Sheena Archuleta

2022    Geared Up Auto

2021    Gene Wilcoxson

2020    Cheryl Reid

2019    Dr. Gogarty

2018    Southern Colorado Health Network

2017    Kim Arline

2016    Pueblo Community College

2015    Southern Colorado Runners Club

2014    Dr. Anne Courtright

2013    John Panepinto, BPh

2012    Dr. Jarvis Ryals

View photos of the past Public Health Champion recipients by visiting