May 24, 2023 - The Pueblo Department of Public Health and Environment (PDPHE) announced Sheena Archuleta was selected as the 2023 Public Health Champion for displaying significant contributions to Pueblo’s public health.

“Congratulations on a well-deserved award to Sheena Archuleta. Pueblo’s public health community acknowledges Mrs. Archuleta as role models in the Pueblo community,” stated Randy Evetts, public health director at the Pueblo Department of Public Health and Environment.

The award was presented to Mrs. Archuleta at the May 24, 2023, Pueblo County Board of Health meeting. A community selection committee chose Mrs. Archuleta for the promotion of health and protection the environment in Pueblo County.


Mrs. Archuleta’s involvement as role models for public health was observed in multiple areas of service to the Pueblo community over time. Mrs. Archuleta advocates for people struggling with addiction who are working with the Addict2Athlete organization, which helps people not just abstain from addiction, but flourish as healthy individuals through education and exercise. In addition, Mrs. Archuleta finds time to coach at Stay Invincible Colorado, helping people achieve their fitness goals, while maintaining a full-time job for Conifer Health Solutions, working part-time at Minnequa Credit Union, and teaching Addict2Athlete classes at the Pueblo Youth Corrections Facility one night a week. Mrs. Archuleta has inspired several women to start their fitness journey and she supports various non-profits that help animals.

Mr. Evetts added, “Shenna, we appreciate your community spirit and efforts to reduce the negative impacts of poverty on health and safety throughout life. You are truly an example of what makes Pueblo great by giving back to your community.”

Nominations were received earlier this year from Pueblo community partners in addition to Pueblo Department of Public Health and Environment’s Board of Health and health department staff members.


Mrs. Archuleta joins past Public Health Champions in receiving this prestigious award:

2022     Geared Up Auto

2021     Gene Wilcoxson

2020     Cheryl Reid

2019     Dr. Gogarty

2018     Southern Colorado Health Network

2017     Kim Arline

2016     Pueblo Community College

2015     Southern Colorado Runners Club

2014    Dr. Anne Courtright

2013    John Panepinto, BPh

2012    Dr. Jarvis Ryals

View photos of the past Public Health Champion recipients by visiting